top of page

LETTERA


"Dear Future Host family,

I'm Alessia. I’m a sixteen- year-old girl and I come from a lovely town in the heel of Italy. It’s always been my dream to go to the U.S. and now that I have been given this opportunity I feel quite overwhelmed by the idea! I also have to thank you in advance for this opportunity!

One thing I would like to advise my host family about is that I’ve got a passion for healthy food. I’d like to try new types of food like the typical American-style hamburger of course, but I’m not a meat lover. My main likes are vegetables and fruit but I promise you I won't create any problems. In fact, I can cook and do the shopping so I could integrate or cook some meals by myself.

One of the reasons why I have decided to go abroad for a period is that I feel it will help me to grow up and overcome my problems of being reserved. I feel that an experience such as this in a new country away from my family will give me the opportunity to develop and mature and therefore enable me to deal with my fears. I believe that the entire experience will be a challenge and will enrich me from a cultural point of view.

Another characteristic of mine? I'm a GEEK and highly proud of it, in fact I like studying. Here, in my town (which I'm going to tell you about soon) I attend a language course in a high school. I study three languages (Spanish, French and English). My favourite one? English, of course. But I like French too, and the feature of this course is that at the end of my fifth year I will get an Italian Diploma and also a French Diploma equivalent to the Baccalauréat so that’s why I really hope there will be some French/Spanish courses in my future school.

However, I absolutely want to enjoy the 10 months spent in the U. S. I’d also like to make it quite clear that I’m not one for alchol or anything else that could be dangerous. I ‘m proud to say I don’t smoke – infact people who smoke rather disturb me so if the family chooses me I sincerely hope they do not smoke.

I'm independent, determined and so ambitious and I've decided to have this kind of experience also to clear my ideas about my future and see what I can actually do with my own strength. I've never left my home (except for some school trips, lasting not more than 4 days) and I'm so excited about the prospect of leaving home for a whole year to see whether I’d be capable of doing without my family and friends. . I want to test myself and to explore the world. I hope I will have enough luck to travel with you and to visit as many places as possible in the USA since travelling is one of the things I love most.

Previously, I told you I would have talked about my town, with which I have a love-hate relationship . I hate the fact that it is so little with only about 84.000 habitants , but I love its weather. It's often sunny (lucky me) and it never snows (this is a bit sad because I've never been able to see it snowing nor to go ice skating), so the temperatures are quite high even in the winter. Another thing I love about it is the short distance to the sea, which I’ve grown up with.

Now, it's time to introduce my family to you. There are four (sorry, five) members in my family. There's my mother, who is 45 years and she's the sweetest person I've ever known (but also the most anxious one); my father, 52, who is a business consultant; my sister, 19, who is studying in France; my little turtle (actually, it's not mine, but my sister's, although it's me who cares for it) and there's me. Even though we often argue, I love her, and now it's difficult to be an only children at home.

I've just realized I haven't talked about my hobbies at all. If I had to make a brief list, I would obviously put travelling at the top and then reading and watching films (romantic and fantasy ones in particular) and Grey’s Anatomy. Finally, I LOVE Christmas with its decorations as well as its colorful lights, but this can't be considered as a true hobby.

By the way, I know I will love you, because you chose me, between thousands of teenagers even better than me, in spite of your race, your age, your religion and I will accept all of you. Thank you!

Alessia"


Ciao! E che succede?! Mi avete rivisto solo dopo qualche giorno e non dopo i soliti mesi... Me ne stupisco anch'io. Ma, bando alle ciance, vi lascio la mia lettera, con la speranza e la fiducia che nessuno la copierà. Anche perché, parliamoci chiaro, non vi conviene. Se il 15 Maggio ancora sono orfana di host family, qualcosa vorrà pur dire. Ma questo sarà oggetto di un altro post, quindi preparatevi alle lacrime. Io vi ho avvertiti. 😌

Alessia 


bottom of page